Skip to content

Never Underestimate the Power of a Checklist

April 8, 2009
by

As much as we have all been denying it, graduation is quickly approaching. With about a month until we walk across the platform and transform from worry-free undergraduates to degree-bearing adults, what exactly is going through our minds? I’m about to go through this transition and I’m wondering the exact thing.

Sadly, there is no one answer as to what is going through my mind on a daily basis. Or an hourly basis, for that matter. I am still attemping to balance my life the way I did before I had to worry about searching for a job. The added stress of applying to a gazillion jobs and hearing back from maybe two has put me over the edge more than once. Like our lives aren’t complicated enough, we have to worry about staying involved, keeping up our grades, applying to jobs and worrying about maintaining our relationships the last few weeks of school.

Friends? Boyfriend? The occasional work out? Sometimes I wonder if my life would be easier if I could focus on just finding a job. Too bad life isn’t that easy. So what exactly can we all do to relieve some of the stress as our big day approaches? Make a checklist.

stock_list_small1

I encourage you to create a checklist of things you need to get done on a small scale as well as set some long term goals for graduation. Nothing feels better than crossing work out off my list and moving to another task. You can plan out a set of things you need to complete in a day and make it a goal to cross out each thing. I’m by no means telling you to schedule in a date with your friends and set a time limit to it, but keep in mind that time management is key at this point in your life.

Equally important, make a list of things you want to get done before you graduate. I can’t stress enough how quickly graduation can creep up, and having words on paper can keep you on track. Keep it in your wallet or on your desk so you can see it everyday. There is nothing I can say to make graduation seem less scary, but making a checklist can help you achieve a set of goals by the time your undergraduate career is complete.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Allyson permalink
    April 9, 2009 12:50 am

    First thing I checked off on my list: pick up my graduation cap and gown. SCARY.

  2. Meg permalink
    April 9, 2009 1:21 am

    I couldn’t agree more… most days the only way that I can keep my head on straight and on top of my game is making a checklist. One thing I’m not looking forward to crossing off – graduate. 😦

Leave a Reply

