Skip to content

10 Tips for Effective Face-to-Face Networking

April 5, 2009

women-shaking-handsTo get a job in this economy, you have to master the art of networking. Here are 10 tips for effective face-to-face networking. These are by J.T. O’Donnell from CareerRealism.

  1. Be sexier. Confidence matters tons.
  2. Remember that you’re every bit as important as the person you’re meeting. Not pompous or arrogant; just important.
  3. Don’t push your agenda. Just get to know me. We can do business any time. Just meet me. We’ll do business later.
  4. Share. Give people things (and things can be information, ideas, introductions to others).
  5. Praise other people. The more you tell me about yourself, the more I wonder if you’re cocky/arrogant.
  6. Share the air. If you talk and talk and talk and I nod and smile the whole time, I’m happy, but also probably not going to remember much about you.
  7. Brevity is okay, but also knowing a nugget about what makes you passionate is great. If you say, “I’m really into surfing,” then I’ve got lots to ask you. If you say, “I love your tweets,” I can say thank you.
  8. Introduce me to someone else. I love meeting your friends, too.
  9. Bring your best ideas. If you’ve got something to run by me, it’s okay if it’s brief. Share the nugget, not the riverbed.
  10. Know that coffee and beer trump breakfast or dinner. People often want to continue talking over a meal. It’s hard to meet with lots of people and take an hour or more for a meal. Coffee or beer works just fine.

Do you see the themes in his tips? Be thoughtful, humble and attentive. It’s simple good manners, don’t you think? In a time when many people are very self-absorbed with their own problems and concerns, Chris is pointing out a true gem: stand out by absorbing yourself in others. A brilliant and easy-to-implement brand strategy if I’ve ever heard one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 7:53 pm

    #5 during an interview:

    Q: What qualifications do you have?
    A: My co-workers are awesome!

  2. Trisha permalink
    April 5, 2009 8:49 pm

    Great post! I love tips I can use in every day life!

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Tips for Effective Face-to-Face Networking

Leave a Reply

