Skip to content

12.5 million

March 22, 2009

Last summer I applied for about 25 internships. I heard back from three, had interviews with two, and landed myself one non-paid internship. The internship I had last summer was a really great experience, but I questioned, why was it so hard to get a summer internship? After a year of watching our country change and our economy continue to struggle, I am aware that it is going to be more difficult than ever to land myself a job in public relations.

Recently I have been trying to think of alternative things I can do, just in case I do not land my ideal job in a public relations firm right away. I have been thinking, what are my alternatives in getting a job? Right after graduating from college can be the perfect time to fulfill some of your life aspirations. To name a few of my life goals; I want to “thru-hike” the Appalachian Trail, travel to far away countries such as Bhutan, Nepal, Tibet and Vietnam, and bike across the United States of America.

So how will I fund these adventures or even start them? Ever since my first time when I traveled abroad to China, I have looked for new opportunities to allow myself to see the world. In high school I spent two summers in Europe. One summer I backpacked in the Alps, and the other I bicycled from Paris to Rome. As soon as I got into college, I knew I wanted to study abroad and ended up going to Florence, Italy for a semester. I am nostalgic to go somewhere out of my comfort zone again. I recently came across an article about young Americans going abroad to teach. I realized what an amazing alternative job this could be for just about anyone. These young Americans are not only able to experience a new culture, learn a new language and have a job, they are getting paid! Perhaps I can look into teaching English in Bhutan, Vietnam, Nepal or Tibet!

Alternatives are not such a bad idea these days. So just remember, if you do not land your dream job right away, do what you can with your time. No need to stress because you might be one  in 12.5 million other Americans without a job. You are not alone.

For more information about “Young Americans going abroad to teach”, please visit this website http://www.cnn.com/2009/TRAVEL/03/20/teaching.abroad/index.html?imw=Y&iref=mpstoryemail

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanna permalink
    March 22, 2009 8:40 pm

    That’s crazy–about 30 minutes ago I ran into someone at the lib who asked me what I am going to do when I graduate. When I told her I have no idea, she recommended I go abroad to teach. And now apparently Jane Doe is telling me to as well…destiny????!!

  2. Jennifer permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:35 pm

    Another alternative to going to work right now is graduate school. Although it might not be exactly what you planned to do after 4 years of hard work, a lot of business people are suggesting it. Most people could find an MBA or a master’s degree useful in just about anything they do! And just thing of how much better a candidate you will be for your dream position once the economy turns itself back around!

  3. Dayne permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:49 pm

    I loved your perspective in this piece. I think everyone should take time to re-examine their interests if they are having a hard time finding that, “perfect job.” I’m headed back to school for something completely different from PR and I’ve never felt so excited or hopeful! Keep up the good work on your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

