Skip to content

Doe’s and Don’ts for 2/26: Top 5 Interviewing Mistakes

February 26, 2009

sales-job-interview-need-to-knows1In a leadership class I had earlier this week, we discussed the top five interviewing mistakes. These were taken from USA Today.

1. To have little or no knowledge of the company or organization that you are interviewing with.
2. To be unprepared to discuss career plans.
3. To have limited enthusiasm.
4. To have a lack of eye contact with the interviewer.
5. To be unprepared to discuss your skills and experience. Make sure to SHOW your experience through examples.

For more information on all different types of job interview situations, visit http://www.collegegrad.com/job/jobinterviewtechnique.shtml

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanna permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:24 pm

    Just a little comment about #3: I sometimes feel bad after interviews because I feel like I have essentially bragged about myself for 30 minutes straight. But–this is OKAY. Interviews are NOT the time to be modest. Sell yourself. The more you sell yourself, the more your interviewer will think you really want the job. Make sure you know what your biggest accomplishment has been, and play it up to no end. I mentioned grammar at least 10 times during my TFA interview, and although TFA has very little to do with grammar, I know my interviewer could really sense my passion. Passion=success!

  2. Kate permalink
    February 27, 2009 1:03 am

    Dr. Warner’s Leadership Class…I hear it is great!!!

    But, I know how important it is to know knowledge of the company or organization you are working for. The last thing a company wants to do is to hire someone who knows NOTHING about their company. Do your research before heading off to a job/internship interview. In this research, you may find out that you would not enjoy working there, which can save a lot of hassle if you know before applying/interviewing.

  3. Mallory permalink
    February 27, 2009 3:36 am

    Thanks for these great tips. Interviewing can be so nerve-racking. Hopefully, these tips will benefit me! Also, another great resource for finding information about jobs, interviewing ect… on JMU’s campus is http://www.jmu.edu/cap/. They also will work one-on-one with you, especially with resumes. Thanks for the great blog posts, keep on blogging!!

  4. Heather permalink
    February 27, 2009 4:47 am

    Great tips! I have actually kept track of generic interview questions that I found difficult, or didn’t have an answer for right away, so that I can reflect more on those and be better prepared for the next interview when a similar question might come up. Also, I have found that if you’re asked if you have any questions at the end of an interview… come up with something!
    Thanks again for the advice.

  5. Leslie permalink
    February 27, 2009 5:03 am

    Dr. Warner (my leadership professor) suggests interviewee’s have atleast 15 questions prepared for any interview. Obviously, you won’t ask that many, but it will require you to do a lot of research before hand about the company. Also, you will find that many of the questions / answers that you were going to ask the company are asked to you in the interview. In most cases, you won’t actually ask more then 3 questions.

  6. Trisha permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:38 pm

    I had never thought about preparing that many questions for an interview. It definately makes sense (along with the do’s and don’ts above). The thing I find hard is the eye contact. I always find myself looking around the room too much. Also, if there are multiple interviewers, should you look at them all equally?

  7. Leslie permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:55 pm

    In terms of the eye contact with multiple interviewers, it really situational, but if you know who you need to make the biggest impression on, I would think it makes to sense to make sure you have consistent eye contact on them. If it is more like a search team that are all on the same level, just make sure to look to of them throughout the interview.

Leave a Reply

